LIFamilies.com - Long Island, NY


RSS
Articles Business Directory Blog Real Estate Community Forum Shop My Family Contests

Log In Chat Index Search Rules Lingo Create Account

Quick navigation:   

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted By Message
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 >>

EatingMyVeggies

Member since 1/12

6667 total posts

Name:

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I think bargain mama meant it's rude to dispose of your dogs waste in someone else's can. That's how I interpreted it. Maybe I'm wrong.

I've had dogs. I've never dumped the waste in a can. I would carry a few old target shopping bags with me and disposed of them later. Never thought to use someone's garbage can.

Message edited 4/20/2014 10:59:35 AM.

Posted 4/20/14 10:58 AM
 
Long Island Weddings
Long Island's Largest Bridal Resource

BargainMama
LIF Adult

Member since 5/09

15657 total posts

Name:

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by EatingMyVeggies

I think bargain mama meant it's rude to dispose of your dogs waste in someone else's can. That's how I interpreted it. Maybe I'm wrong.

I've had dogs. I've never dumped the waste in a can. I would carry a few old target shopping bags with me and disposed of them later. Never thought to use someone's garbage can.



EXACTLY what my point was.

Not sure how anyone would think this is OKAY the more I think about. It's gross, rude, and just trashy! But again, me me me, I don't care what other people think, I will put my sh*t where I want Chat Icon Chat Icon

Posted 4/20/14 11:32 AM
 

BargainMama
LIF Adult

Member since 5/09

15657 total posts

Name:

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by DiamondGirl

Posted by BargainMama

I have to say, the responses on here do not surprise me in the slightest. Just shows that we live in a self absorbed, me me me society.



I don't get this.

Is it self absorbed to think it's okay to throw your dog shitt into someone's else's can or is itself absorbed to not want someone to throw shit in your can? Lol

Again it's isn't a crime but it is just in poor taste IMO you aren't walking your dog 10 miles for hours at a time are you? No then carry an dispose of your own shitt at home



I AGREE.

Posted 4/20/14 11:33 AM
 

jellybean78
:)

Member since 8/06

13103 total posts

Name:
Mommy

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Ehh..I wouldn't do it but I wouldn't make a federal case out of it either. Personally IMO it is a little gross. Although garbage is garbage you never know if someone threw out something accidentally in their trash and needed to retrieve it after you threw out your dogs shit.

Posted 4/20/14 12:48 PM
 

stonecrest
LIF Infant

Member since 12/11

97 total posts

Name:

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Garbage cans are not public property. Go into Home Depot and see how much they cost. Someone threw their dogy poop in a bag into my garbagecan and We had to pull it out to throw it away. Another time they threw it on top of our garbage bag liiner and it fell off the top of the hefty garbage bag liner when the garbage men reached in to remove the liner from the garbage can and fell onto the street where we had to deal with someones doggy poop. Garbage cans are private property paid for by the homeower, not the town. If you have a dog, don't make your responsiibility someone elses problem.

Posted 4/20/14 7:57 PM
 

PennyCat
Just call me mommy :)

Member since 7/08

19084 total posts

Name:
Jib

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I don't understand what's so hard about carrying it home, by I'm also not a dog owner.

Posted 4/20/14 8:31 PM
 

EricaAlt
LIF Adult

Member since 7/08

22665 total posts

Name:
Erica

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I think it's gross, but wouldn't ruin my day. I'd just never do it. We keep our can in the garage on non pickup days. I know how stinky it can get when I throw my 2 yr old's poop in the garbage can. DH is a contractor so lots of times has some nails or something broken in the can that can tear it. You never know.
When I lived in the city it never bothered me bc the cans stay out all the time. Doesn't get brought into a home. Jmo.

Posted 4/20/14 9:21 PM
 

ShhhTTCin11
3 under 3?!

Member since 5/11

2229 total posts

Name:
Coleen

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Not a dog owner, but it would annoy me a little if someone did it. It would
Drive DH nuts. I'd hold onto it until you get to your own can.

Posted 4/20/14 9:24 PM
 

Strawberry2468
It's summatime

Member since 3/09

4739 total posts

Name:
Christine

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Nah, as long as its all sealed up, it would be one with the 4000 diapers in the diaper genie bag in my trash. I'd leave it on that persons porch with a pretty bow next time. Chat Icon

Posted 4/20/14 9:51 PM
 

Strawberry2468
It's summatime

Member since 3/09

4739 total posts

Name:
Christine

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

PS, I can't wait til there is a "remember the drama" post a few months from now and we list "the dog shit post" along with icicle lights and all the others that have gone down in history over the years.

Posted 4/20/14 9:54 PM
 

lcherian
He is the reason!

Member since 2/06

2512 total posts

Name:

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by BargainMama

Posted by EatingMyVeggies

I think bargain mama meant it's rude to dispose of your dogs waste in someone else's can. That's how I interpreted it. Maybe I'm wrong.

I've had dogs. I've never dumped the waste in a can. I would carry a few old target shopping bags with me and disposed of them later. Never thought to use someone's garbage can.



EXACTLY what my point was.

Not sure how anyone would think this is OKAY the more I think about. It's gross, rude, and just trashy! But again, me me me, I don't care what other people think, I will put my sh*t where I want Chat Icon Chat Icon



Chat Icon Chat Icon

Posted 4/20/14 10:14 PM
 

stonecrest
LIF Infant

Member since 12/11

97 total posts

Name:

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Garbage cans are private property,purchased by the owner and not property of the town. Someone once threw their doggy poop in a plastic bag on the bottom of our garbage can and we always put our garbage in a liner and the bag fell into the street when the garbagemen pulled the liner out of the can. Don't make the homeowner deal with what the dog owner should be responsible for. The garbage cans are there for the homeowner and only the homeowner.

Posted 4/20/14 10:19 PM
 

lipglossjunky73
My Everything!

Member since 11/05

35670 total posts

Name:
<3

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by stonecrest

Garbage cans are private property,purchased by the owner and not property of the town. Someone once threw their doggy poop in a plastic bag on the bottom of our garbage can and we always put our garbage in a liner and the bag fell into the street when the garbagemen pulled the liner out of the can. Don't make the homeowner deal with what the dog owner should be responsible for. The garbage cans are there for the homeowner and only the homeowner.



So.... Do you think garbage cans are private property? Just curious....

Chat Icon

I used to do it when I first had my dog but felt it wasn't right so took it to my can.

Posted 4/20/14 10:25 PM
 

momtimes2
LIF Infant

Member since 4/14

333 total posts

Name:
stephanie

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

eh, not a big deal imo

Posted 4/21/14 12:27 AM
 

nrthshgrl
It goes fast. Pay attention.

Member since 7/05

57538 total posts

Name:

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

If the can is at the curb, then I think it's fine.

If someone walked onto my driveway with it to toss in my garbage can, I'd be pissed.

Posted 4/21/14 9:27 AM
 

jerseypanda
Life is good.

Member since 1/07

9164 total posts

Name:
Amanda

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I will tell you why it would bother me.

My garbage men tend to just grab the garbage bags out of our can and toss them in the truck. They don't pick the can up and dump it into the truck. That means your little bag of tied up poop would either end up falling to the bottom of my garbage can and sitting there for God knows how long, OR it will fall outside the can when the garbage men lift the bags out and end up sitting on my lawn.

So yes, it's garbage, but for me because of the way I know our garbage men work, I would be annoyed because I know that little baggie of poop would not end up in the garbage truck.

Message edited 4/21/2014 9:28:40 AM.

Posted 4/21/14 9:27 AM
 

MrsA714
Baby #2 is here!

Member since 8/07

8806 total posts

Name:

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Being that almost no one in my neighborhood cleans up after their dog, I probably would just be happy that someone actually picked up, lol. I do, however, get annoyed with some other garbage that might get thrown in my can because if its recyclable I can get a ticket for it if it's mixed in with the garbage (I'm in NYC).

Posted 4/21/14 9:35 AM
 

2boys4me
He's coming soon!

Member since 4/10

4260 total posts

Name:

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

What is this garbage can liner everyone keeps mentioning? Is it like a bag for your outside can that you put all your garbage bags into? That sounds really wasteful to me if that's what it is. Is this to prevent your trash can from getting icky and smelly?

Posted 4/21/14 9:36 AM
 

alli3131
Peanut is here!!!!!!

Member since 5/09

18388 total posts

Name:
Allison

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by 2boys4me

What is this garbage can liner everyone keeps mentioning? Is it like a bag for your outside can that you put all your garbage bags into? That sounds really wasteful to me if that's what it is. Is this to prevent your trash can from getting icky and smelly?



A trash bag is called a liner.

Waste maybe if we are being really green but it also makes it easier for the sanitation workers to just grab the liner and go.

Posted 4/21/14 10:03 AM
 

kahlua716
3 Girls for Me!

Member since 8/07

12475 total posts

Name:
Keri

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by WannaBeAMom11

For people to care makes me laugh. Its garbage. I throw the tied up bag in whatever garbage is near.



Chat Icon

Posted 4/21/14 10:39 AM
 

LSP2005
Bunny kisses are so cute!

Member since 5/05

19454 total posts

Name:
L

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I would not be happy if someone did this with dog poop. For other trash it would not bother me at all, but poop smells and I know that our garbage men don't flip the can, rather they just lift the bag so the small poop bag would fall to the bottom of my trash can forcing me to clean it out. No thanks. It cannot be that far from your house to where your dog does its business, don't be lazy and just take it home to your own trash can.

Posted 4/21/14 10:46 AM
 

momtimes2
LIF Infant

Member since 4/14

333 total posts

Name:
stephanie

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by stonecrest

Garbage cans are not public property. Go into Home Depot and see how much they cost. Someone threw their dogy poop in a bag into my garbagecan and We had to pull it out to throw it away. Another time they threw it on top of our garbage bag liiner and it fell off the top of the hefty garbage bag liner when the garbage men reached in to remove the liner from the garbage can and fell onto the street where we had to deal with someones doggy poop. Garbage cans are private property paid for by the homeower, not the town. If you have a dog, don't make your responsiibility someone elses problem.



maybe in NY but down here in Charlotte, we do not pay for our cans, they are provided by the town. either way, I don't see the big deal. I mean, I don't think I would actually do what the OP did but I wouldn't care if someone threw it in my trash can

Posted 4/21/14 10:50 AM
 

kahlua716
3 Girls for Me!

Member since 8/07

12475 total posts

Name:
Keri

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I'm sitting here in awe that things like this bother people. I mean- no one is smearing the lid with it.
I think it's more disgusting to walk around carrying dog shit.

Really, I wish my life was so wonderful that all I could find to get worked up about is someone throwing bagged dog waste into my garbage when it's at the curb.

Chat Icon Chat Icon

Posted 4/21/14 10:51 AM
 

lynnd126
LIF Adult

Member since 3/11

2630 total posts

Name:

Is it rude? Honest opinions!

I just want to add that it's not necessarily about getting crazy angry or worked up etc. I would definitely not throw my dog's poop into someone else's can bc I think it's rude BUT if someone threw it into my can I wouldn't say anything. I really wouldn't care at all especially bc my own dog's poop is already in there. But I just don't think that's nice to put on someone who doesn't have a dog. I have a few friends that are clean freaks that would like die at the thought of poop in their cans. Those people also generally have no pets at all. I just don't think it's right or nice. That doesn't mean I think it's like the tragedy of the century. In my neighborhood the garbage men flip the whole can into the truck. If they just pulled the bags out like many of you said they do in your neighborhood, then the poop would fall back in and the owner would have to pull the bag out and put it in another bag themself. I just don't think you put that on a stranger bc many would find it gross to handle a leftover hot bag of random dog poop.

Message edited 4/21/2014 11:14:22 AM.

Posted 4/21/14 11:12 AM
 

ave1024
I Took The Wrong Road

Member since 12/07

6153 total posts

Name:
That Led To The Wrong Tendencies

Re: Is it rude? Honest opinions!

Posted by kahlua716

I'm sitting here in awe that things like this bother people. I mean- no one is smearing the lid with it.
I think it's more disgusting to walk around carrying dog shit.

Chat Icon Chat Icon




That's the price of owning a dog. My PERSONAL property is not yours to utilize.

Posted 4/21/14 11:17 AM
 
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 >>
 

Potentially Related Topics:

Topic Posted By Started Replies Forum
ok..i need HONEST opinions please.. alex7-2 7/7/06 7 Parenting
i need honest opinions PLEASE..i wont be offended alex7-2 5/15/06 24 Pregnancy
Need honest opinions....Please read! ladybug78 3/14/06 14 Home
Honest Opinions skew 12/29/05 25 Families Helping Families ™
Honest opinions on selling price for this house..... JennChris 11/19/05 3 Home
Need honest opinions on this salary.. KittyCat 9/7/05 34 Families Helping Families ™
 
Quick navigation:   
Currently 180294 users on the LIFamilies.com Chat
New Businesses
1 More Rep
Carleton Hall of East Islip
J&A Building Services
LaraMae Health Coaching
Sonic Wellness
Julbaby Photography LLC
Ideal Uniforms
Teresa Geraghty Photography
Camelot Dream Homes
Long Island Wedding Boutique
MB Febus- Rodan & Fields
Camp Harbor
Market America-Shop.com
ACM Basement Waterproofing
Travel Tom

      Follow LIWeddings on Facebook

      Follow LIFamilies on Twitter
Long Island Bridal Shows