LIFamilies.com - Long Island, NY


RSS
Articles Business Directory Blog Real Estate Community Forum Shop My Family Contests

Log In Chat Index Search Rules Lingo Create Account

Quick navigation:   

Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Posted By Message
Pages: [1] 2 3

nbc188
Best friends!

Member since 12/06

23090 total posts

Name:
C

Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Just curious about others' ideas here-- I have my own stance but lots of people I'm encountering have the opposite opinion as me on this silly little debate.

My name starts with C. So does DH’s. It just so happens that DD’s name starts with a C (I’ve loved her name since I was a child, so there was no question what my first daughter’s name would be). So, we’re all C names so far.

I’m presently pregnant with my second daughter…have absolutely no ideas for names for her. In my situation, would you HAVE to do a C name for your next child? Would you feel it was weird if you didn’t name your next (and last) child with a C? Obviously if you found a name you loved and it just so happened to start with a C, that’s one thing. But would you ONLY consider C names so the kid doesn’t “feel left out”?

Not sure if I veiled my opinion enough, but I don't care Chat Icon

Message edited 2/4/2010 10:22:42 AM.

Posted 2/4/10 10:19 AM
 
Long Island Weddings
Long Island's Largest Bridal Resource

KateDevine
*

Member since 6/06

24950 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I wouldn't look at just "C" names, there are some beautiful ones, but I think that you should just see what ends up being your favoriteChat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:20 AM
 

beachgirl
LIF Adult

Member since 7/05

7963 total posts

Name:
sara

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

No I wouldnt have to use C. I would just go with the name you love and not worry about the letter.

Posted 2/4/10 10:21 AM
 

Shorty
.

Member since 5/05

30390 total posts

Name:
really

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

i'd stick with a C. but i'm weird like that. Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:22 AM
 

bonitachyc
big sister status may 2012!!

Member since 5/08

3242 total posts

Name:
Lupe

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

i wouldnt' feel like i HAVE to name my next (and last) child with a letter C. look at it this way, she's so completely unique, her name has to be something other than C Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:22 AM
 

Marbo
LOVE

Member since 7/08

2371 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I can't tell what your opinion is...but I wouldn't feel like I had to pick a C name just to keep everyone with the C (or so the 2nd dd doesn't feel left out), but you could if you want to.

Posted 2/4/10 10:22 AM
 

Diana1215
Living on a prayer!!!

Member since 10/05

29450 total posts

Name:
Diana

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I don't think you have to use a C name. I think I would rather try to find a name that flows nicely with C's name now.

Ex: I think Jack and Tyler go nicely together. (obviously LOL)

But, it flows nicely when I say "My parents took Jack and Tyler while me and James went to Hawaii for the week" ----- A girl can dream can't she?! Chat Icon

But, you know what I'm getting at! Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:23 AM
 

Smileyd17
kids

Member since 5/05

20997 total posts

Name:
Mommy

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

if you can and find something with a "C" great...but I wouldnt stress if I didnt love one and try to find a name I loved.

I was going to do the same. DD is a "G" and I was going to name, if we had a girl, a "G" name. All picked out too!

that went out the door...quickly!

Posted 2/4/10 10:23 AM
 

Michelle
My Little Yankee Fans

Member since 1/06

4018 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I always thought I would not care, but a friend of mine has 3 of them with J names and they named their daughter a G name, and it always seems strange when I get a card from them.

Posted 2/4/10 10:24 AM
 

headoverheels
s'il vous plaît

Member since 6/07

42079 total posts

Name:
LB

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I wouldn't have to have a C name but I'd try to focus on them because I think it would be cool if you all had C names Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:24 AM
 

carissa1643
I LOVE my sons! :)

Member since 5/09

5283 total posts

Name:
Carissa

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Posted by Shorty

i'd stick with a C. but i'm weird like that. Chat Icon



Me too! But I'm weird too! Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:25 AM
 

Eireann
Two ladies and a gentleman!

Member since 5/05

12165 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I wouldn't limit my search to C names. My sister's family all have K names. Her son's name is a combination of her and her DH's names; when she was pregnant with #2, she strictly looked at K names so no one would be left out. Their names are all a tongue-twister and many people Chat Icon at the "K" family. I know that shouldn't make any difference at all...but I'm only sharing their situation.

Posted 2/4/10 10:26 AM
 

Meggo613
im a big girl!

Member since 2/07

4536 total posts

Name:
Megan

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

for me it wouldnt matter. i would just go with what i like the best. if it just so happened to be a C then so be it. but i dont think i would only consider C names. My family we are all M names BUT my dad its a nick name that we use instead of his actualy birth given name so hes odd man out and hes ok with it! Chat Icon Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:26 AM
 

Eireann
Two ladies and a gentleman!

Member since 5/05

12165 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Also, if a family all happened to have say July b-days...should they try only to conceive a July baby so no one would feel left out?

In the end, pick a name you love regardless. If you're looking for C suggestions though...I happed to love Claire! Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:27 AM
 

chelle
It's a Good Life

Member since 8/06

15404 total posts

Name:
Isn't it obvious?

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I would consider other names....but if it's your "thing" to have all C's, then I think that's cute as well.

My cousins all have J's as their names and so do family friends.

I think it's a cute idea...but don't necessarily think it has to be that way Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:27 AM
 

cutie
LIF Adult

Member since 2/06

1893 total posts

Name:
Janine

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I personally don't love the idea of the whole family having the same initial.

Both of my parents were P's. My brother (younger) is also a P. I was a J in the middle.

Dh and I are both J's and I was the opposite - I didn't want any J names for DD's. If we have a 3rd, I would be more open to it now.

I know a family who all has the same initial and I think it just looks/sounds funny.

Just my opinon though!

Posted 2/4/10 10:30 AM
 

FrankiesGirl107
My Girls

Member since 12/06

3642 total posts

Name:
Amee

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I wouldn't necessarily feel like I HAD to use a "C" name, but I probably WOULD...I think I'd be drawn to the C names...

Posted 2/4/10 10:33 AM
 

pinkandblue
Our family is complete, maybe

Member since 9/05

32436 total posts

Name:
Stephanie

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Posted by Shorty

i'd stick with a C. but i'm weird like that. Chat Icon



same here, I would be afriad that dd #2 would feel left out but I am also wierd like that Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:34 AM
 

DRMom
Two in Blue

Member since 5/05

20223 total posts

Name:
Melissa

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

OMG I had the same issue. Not only do both mine and my DH's name start with M but so does our last name. One of the names we loved for a boy was Mason. So he would have ben Mason M...Well when we got PG with twins we ultimately decided to NOT go with M names because I did feel that everyone would need the same or that 4th "non-M" would feel left out. I know its probably stupid but yes that is how I feelChat Icon On another note I love the name Ciara
It was on my girl list. Also with C there is teh hard C and the soft C and I believe your daughters name is the soft c, so you could always go with a hard C sound to mix it up?

Posted 2/4/10 10:37 AM
 

KateDevine
*

Member since 6/06

24950 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Posted by Diana1215



But, it flows nicely when I say "My parents took Jack and Tyler while me and James went to Hawaii for the week" ----- A girl can dream can't she?! Chat Icon

:




Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon Chat Icon

Posted 2/4/10 10:39 AM
 

CrankyPants
I'm cranky

Member since 7/06

18178 total posts

Name:
Mama Cranky

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Hmmmm...I'm weird but I would probably try to avoid another C name unless there was one that I loved so as not to be the cutesy "C" family.

However, I'm a bit of a contrarian because when we were considering names for Owen I really tried to avoid "C" names because DD is a C and DH is a C (I'm and L). I was concerned about being too Dugger-ish (all the kids are J's after the dad, and the mom is the only non-J). I don't really know how this has anything to do with your dilemma-I guess I just felt like sharing a remotely related storyChat Icon

ETA: I'm dying to know, what is your stance on the issue? C or no C?

Message edited 2/4/2010 10:55:19 AM.

Posted 2/4/10 10:41 AM
 

eroxgirl
My Loves

Member since 5/05

15697 total posts

Name:
Rebecca

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I would definitely be looking for a C name if I were you, but I get a kick out of the same initial thing.

I wanted all E names for my children. DH doesn't like the one I want for Chat Icon but DD and DH are both Es.

All of my father's sisters have L names. When my dad wanted to name me Lori my mother refused because she didn't want to add to the L names, so it's my middle name instead.

Message edited 2/4/2010 10:49:51 AM.

Posted 2/4/10 10:49 AM
 

pnbplus1
Family

Member since 5/09

5751 total posts

Name:
Mommy

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

Not sure. I guess I would worry about what DC#2 thought about not sharing a first initial with the rest of you. I think I would hope to find a C name I loved only to avoid any issues later on. It's a tough one. I want to say that another 1st initial would be ok, DC#2 would be made to feel special, unique, etc. but its not alway easy for kids when they consider themselves different.

Posted 2/4/10 10:50 AM
 

CaMacho
Sisters :)

Member since 7/06

15112 total posts

Name:
Jess

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

I think it would be cute to stick with a C name, but if there were none that I liked I wouldn't just settle. I'd move on to another letter.

Posted 2/4/10 10:52 AM
 

KateDevine
*

Member since 6/06

24950 total posts

Name:

Re: Input on naming options for baby #2-- looking for opinions about an issue

You could also do the same sound.

I'm Kate and my sister is Caroline, so we have the same "CA" sound at the beginning of our names.

Posted 2/4/10 10:52 AM
 
Pages: [1] 2 3
 
Quick navigation:   
Currently 197937 users on the LIFamilies.com Chat
New Businesses
1 More Rep
Carleton Hall of East Islip
J&A Building Services
LaraMae Health Coaching
Sonic Wellness
Julbaby Photography LLC
Ideal Uniforms
Teresa Geraghty Photography
Camelot Dream Homes
Long Island Wedding Boutique
MB Febus- Rodan & Fields
Camp Harbor
Market America-Shop.com
ACM Basement Waterproofing
Travel Tom

      Follow LIWeddings on Facebook

      Follow LIFamilies on Twitter
Long Island Bridal Shows