LIFamilies.com - Long Island, NY


RSS
Articles Business Directory Blog Real Estate Community Forum Shop My Family Contests

Log In Chat Index Search Rules Lingo Create Account

Quick navigation:   

Really need opinions on amount of formula

Posted By Message

jaysee00
LIF Adult

Member since 3/06

1647 total posts

Name:

Really need opinions on amount of formula

OK...I'm kind of annoyed right now because I had my DH call our ped yesterday to find out the range of the amount of formula my DD should be taking.

I am concerned because she is up to 3 meals a day and really doesn't care that much for the bottle anymore. She's also 8 months. She also weighs approx. 14 pounds.

Of course, my ped's office was vague and said it depends on how much solids she's had that day, if she's hungry, blah, blah, blah. I've always liked this office but I swear they can't just give a specific answer.

Well, guess what? She's in bed for the night now and she only had 13 oz today! She had 3 meals but still, I don't think that's enough. On the other hand, how do I force her to take in more?

All opinions welcome. Please!!!

Edited to say that she is teething and I know that it can somewhat affect the intake.

Message edited 10/1/2009 6:54:44 PM.

Posted 10/1/09 6:52 PM
 
Long Island Weddings
Long Island's Largest Bridal Resource

1stimemom
Love my boys

Member since 2/08

8766 total posts

Name:
Mrs Dee

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

I think at that age they should be taking at least 18oz

Posted 10/1/09 6:53 PM
 

nov04libride
big brother <3

Member since 5/05

14672 total posts

Name:
Me

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

DS is being the same way since starting solids, so I am trying to get him to eat more cereal mixed with formula to still be getting all the necessary nutrients. Maybe try that? I serve about 6 ounces of formula in cereal daily.

Posted 10/1/09 6:54 PM
 

DRMom
Two in Blue

Member since 5/05

20223 total posts

Name:
Melissa

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

My kids were at the Dr at 7 months and he told me at least 16 oz. Now I wouldn't worry about 1 day biut if its a pattern of her only taking 13 oz a day then you need to change something. Do you always offer formula first? Before solids?

Posted 10/1/09 6:54 PM
 

jaysee00
LIF Adult

Member since 3/06

1647 total posts

Name:

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

Posted by nov04libride

DS is being the same way since starting solids, so I am trying to get him to eat more cereal mixed with formula to still be getting all the necessary nutrients. Maybe try that? I serve about 6 ounces of formula in cereal daily.



OK, this might sound dumb Chat Icon but if I do this...do I decrease the other solids and about how many tbsp of cereal is this? Or do I just mix it until it's the right consistency. Good idea, thanks.

Posted 10/1/09 6:56 PM
 

nov04libride
big brother <3

Member since 5/05

14672 total posts

Name:
Me

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

Posted by jaysee00

Posted by nov04libride

DS is being the same way since starting solids, so I am trying to get him to eat more cereal mixed with formula to still be getting all the necessary nutrients. Maybe try that? I serve about 6 ounces of formula in cereal daily.



OK, this might sound dumb Chat Icon but if I do this...do I decrease the other solids and about how many tbsp of cereal is this? Or do I just mix it until it's the right consistency. Good idea, thanks.



Depending on how much food DC is willing to eat Chat Icon, you may end up decreasing other meals. I give the cereal in the morning, but DS still wants lunch and dinner w/ 3-4 bottles among the meals, and sometimes a mid-morning fruit snack. I started in the morning mixing fruit w/ cereal, but when I found DS wasn't taking enough formula I started mixing the cereal w/ formula.

I kind of just do it until it's the right consistency, but kind of runny--when it's really thick it seems to kind of make him choke since it's so dry.

Posted 10/1/09 7:07 PM
 

Maybe-baby
LIF Adolescent

Member since 12/07

774 total posts

Name:

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

My DD is also 8 months and we seem to have the same problem as you. I am not sure if it is teething related as the bottom two have broken through last week or if it has to do with the amount of solids she gets daily. I guess I can't really offer any advice since my DD's daily intake also varies and the ped just let me know that at this age the daily intake will definitely vary. So I wouldn't be so concerned if she took in 13 oz 1 day as long it is not the norm.

Lately, I have been offering the bottle first and then the solids a little while later (i.e. 12 noon 6 oz bottle and then 12:30 or 12:45 lunch) so if she is full she can refuse the solids as opposed to refusing the bottles. I have noticed that her intake did somewhat increase.

Posted 10/1/09 7:19 PM
 

DeniseMarie
<3

Member since 8/07

10682 total posts

Name:

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

Onnce I started solids, I was lucky if Katie drank 6oz a day. Seriously. She refused her bottles. My ped said dont worry about it, as long as she is not dehydrated. (Producing wet diapers)

At first I was considered, but she was such a good eater with the solid foods, I quickly stopped worrying about it. Some days she wouldnt take the bottle at all.

Now, she wont drink milk either. Chat Icon its frustrating but i cant force her. I just give her yogurts, cheese, etc

Posted 10/1/09 7:31 PM
 

jaysee00
LIF Adult

Member since 3/06

1647 total posts

Name:

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

Posted by DRMom

My kids were at the Dr at 7 months and he told me at least 16 oz. Now I wouldn't worry about 1 day biut if its a pattern of her only taking 13 oz a day then you need to change something. Do you always offer formula first? Before solids?



No, I actually haven't done that, but I know my sitter has and she said that she still seems to look for the solids. Maybe I should be trying that on my own though too.

Posted 10/1/09 7:42 PM
 

A-Nonny-Mouse
LIF Infant

Member since 5/08

117 total posts

Name:
J

Re: Really need opinions on amount of formula

My DD is the same age and still drinks upwards of 30 oz of BM and formula a day. She is a milk-a-holic.

She eats 4 oz of solids 3x per day (1 stage 2 jar or 4 homemade cubes per meal).

Posted 10/1/09 7:46 PM
 
 

Potentially Related Topics:

Topic Posted By Started Replies Forum
Need opinions....BF vs. Formula = gas issues (kinda long) chelle 10/3/07 18 Parenting
Pali Cribs.....any opinions???? Dani00518 5/21/05 1 Pregnancy
Generic Formula Laru 5/17/05 2 Parenting
Opinions (advice needed) PLEASE..job related dm24angel 5/17/05 32 Families Helping Families ™
Repost from pregnancy - Nursery opinions please :) MrsR 5/16/05 2 Home
I think I have my color cheme for kitchen, opinions btrflygrl 5/15/05 1 Home
 
Quick navigation:   
Currently 16256 users on the LIFamilies.com Chat
New Businesses
1 More Rep
Carleton Hall of East Islip
J&A Building Services
LaraMae Health Coaching
Sonic Wellness
Julbaby Photography LLC
Ideal Uniforms
Teresa Geraghty Photography
Camelot Dream Homes
Long Island Wedding Boutique
MB Febus- Rodan & Fields
Camp Harbor
Market America-Shop.com
ACM Basement Waterproofing
Travel Tom

      Follow LIWeddings on Facebook

      Follow LIFamilies on Twitter
Long Island Bridal Shows